Tags

, , , , , ,

First blog in 2 months!

I believe that everything in life is a learning experience. The ups, downs, good, bad, ins, outs, highs, lows…..we can always learn from what we are dealt and for the most part I do believe that we are not dealt more than we can handle.

It is also my opinion that life in your 30s is a time for considerable personal transitions. Those of you in your 40s, 50s, and 60s may also feel this way or can attest to this; I just cannot speak from that point of view.  Each decade brings us new lessons, new life experiences, new interactions; but we figure out who we truly are in our 30s…..or at least this has been my experience.

My 30s are not over yet 🙂 and I continue to learn new things each day. I learn from what I read and the information I educate myself with, from the relationships I have, from the people I choose to surround myself with.  Jordan and Kendall teach me daily with their personalities and tests of parenthood.

My 30s have taught me who I really am, what kind of difference I want to make in the world and what kind of legacy I want to leave. I realize what kind of person I am and I do not need anyone else’s approval or validation. I know how I want to spend my day, who I want to spend it with, the lessons I want to teach my kids. I know what goals I want to accomplish this year, what books I want to read and where I want to travel. I know who inspires and motivates me and I am certain of my belief system.

Of course, there are quite a few things that I do not know yet…… 🙂

There are three mantras that I aspire to live by daily; which happen to be the same three that I coach others to do in their lives as well.

  • “Do your best everyday in everything that you do. YOUR best is not that of your partner, parents, neighbors, and friends; your best is for YOU. Each of us has our own best.”
  • “Concentrate on something positive each morning upon waking and as your go throughout the day. Don’t judge. See the good in situations and in others first.”
  • “Don’t take the things in your life for granted.”

When you think of “things” in life that you don’t want to take for granted; what comes to mind? Family, friends, health, job, a house to live, food on the table….. Right?  We can live our day-to-day lives and aspire not to take these things for granted, except sincerely being thankful and living that way takes thought and effort.

My 30s have taught me two important lessons:

*My family comes first; no matter what, always.

*Never take your health for granted. Being healthy and feeling good every day is vitally important and if you have the choice, to live any less than that is cheating yourself out of life.

Over the past 3 months, this has been my lesson. I did take my health for granted. Kind of a cocky attitude to not think twice about it; just because I live a healthy lifestyle doesn’t mean things cannot get out of whack.  My family and close friends know that I have been dealing with some health issues over the past several months – ones that I am still dealing with and trying to figure out. However, I can tell that I am on the mend and I will be fine!  January and February brought numerous days where it was hard to get up, let alone go teach a class or train a client with a smile on my face.

I LOVE what I do; helping others each day with health, fitness and general wellness and seeing people realize their ultimate potential. Seeing that light in someone’s eyes when they realize they can do anything they make up their minds to do, is priceless. This is one of the things I was put on this Earth to do. However, I have to feel my best to do my best; and feeling my best has everything to do with those 3 mantras.everything happens

