thanksHopefully we are all spending this time of year in thoughts of gratitude and thanksgiving, rather than and speeding past GO; straight from Halloween to Christmas.

I LOVE the holidays and Thanksgiving is my favorite.

My childhood memories are vivid; waking on Thanksgiving morning to the savory smell of turkey and stuffing in the oven. Stumbling sleepily down the hard wood stairs to sounds of the Macy’s Thanksgiving Day Parade emitting from the TV. Mom and Dad were always dressed for the occasion; Mom’s long dirty blonde hair blanketed her shoulders and a seasoned apron covered her long skirt as she prepared the most amazing meal. Holiday buzz filled the air with family members in and out, helping in the kitchen, playing outside, conversing and watching TV.

The dining room table was set the night before with fine china in preparation for the exquisite meal.  We dined like kings and queens on Thanksgiving; from hor d’oeuvres to multiple desserts. I embraced being in charge of making the homemade whipped cream for the numerous pumpkin pies that were consumed. Mom taught me one year how to make the perfect whipped cream with exactly the right amount of vanilla and sugar; and for years to come, it was a job that I proudly accepted.

Our Thanksgiving meal would always be around 3:00; and if it was to be any later, my brothers and I would protest. We wanted to have time to hit the kitchen later that evening for round #2 –  leftover turkey and cranberry sandwiches!

My memories are wonderful and I want my kids to experience the same. This year I will teach Kendall how to make that whipped cream to perfection 🙂 We celebrate old traditions and have begun our own. Our family started off the season making a Fisher Family gratitude box. Kendall spent time painting and decorating our (shoe) box, and we explained to the kids how it would work. Anytime that they feel gratitude or thankful for anything, they write it on a piece of paper and put it in the box. On Christmas Eve we will open the box under the tree and share what is inside on those pieces of paper.

This season I am thankful for so much I cannot even begin to say…..that would be an entire other blog!  I will say that I am counting down the days until Thanksgiving and am so fortunate that my family will ALL be together this year.

Peace and blessings to you all,

Lindseygratitude

 

