Tags

, , , , , ,

2014-12-16 10.45.54FOOD!

 

Many of you have asked for this recipe or we have connected on Instagram. So, I want to share the DELICIOUS recipe for the homemade Orange Coconut Granola that I made last week!

**Double this recipe and store in an air tight container after cooled completely to have throughout the week.*

 

  • 1 cup GF oats
  • 1/4 cup raw pumpkin seeds
  • 1/4 – 1/2 cup raw almonds
  • 5 tsps brown sugar
  • 1 1/2 tbsp coconut oil (melted)
  • 1 tbsp grated orange rind
  • 1-2 tbsp fresh squeezed orange juice
  • 2 tbsp shredded coconut
  • 1/4 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/8 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/8 tsp pumpkin pie spice

Preheat oven to 325. Combine all ingredients in a bowl. Spread mixture on parchment paper lined baking sheet. Bake at 325 for 25 minutes. Let cool completely and enjoy over fruit, yogurt or by itself!


FITNESS!

Not enough time in your day? Most mornings I am up at 5:15 to workout, otherwise I wouldn’t have the time either. It is about PRIORITY!  BUT, the good news is that event if you are short on time, you can still get in a GREAT workout in only 15 minutes!

Remember – SOMETHING is always better than NOTHING! 2 laps around the track is better than sitting on the bench. 5 push-ups is better than no push-ups. Getting in 15 minutes a day is better than no minutes a day!

So, next time you are running short on time, try this quick and easy to follow Tabata inspired 15 minute workout:

:20 seconds work, :10 seconds rest, 8 rounds
x3
1 minute rest between each set

First set – box jumps
Second set – burpees
Third set – mountain climbers

I use an app called Timers Pro on my ipad so I don’t have to mess with a stop watch and I can clearly see the seconds ticking by!

I want to hear more from you!!  Let me know how it goes 🙂


FUN!

What are many of us spending A LOT of our time doing during the day?? We are all on our mobile devices!  In fact, Business Insider tells us that Americans spend an average of 2 hour and 57 minutes A DAY on their mobile devices.

With that much time, we need to make sure that we are having FUN!  Here are some of my favorite apps that I use on my iphone and ipad:

  • Final_Shortwww.FitEnvyNC.4yourmobile.com
  • Pinterest, Twitter, Facebook
  • A+ Signature, InstaQuote, Flipagram
  • Whole Foods Market, Fooducate, My Fitness Pal, epicurious, Total Wine
  • Red Stamp, Dictionary, DuoLingo

What about you?  Do you know of any fabulous apps that we need to know about?

Share them in comments!!

 

 

