If you are on Facebook, you may have seen my post about poop yesterday on my FIT ENVY NC page ?!  If not, you are missing out!  LOL 🙂

Seriously, we were talking FIBER. Different types and how important fiber is for proper digestion!  Here is the post if you missed it…

FIBER recipesHow is your poop? Yes, I did just ask that question!

It happens to everyone. We all poop and our poop says a lot about our health! Getting the right amount of fiber in your diet can make a big difference!  FIBER helps control hunger, aids in proper digestion and has a lot to do with healthy bowel movements – but most Americans do not get enough.

The RDA for women is 25g per day and for men is 38g. Are you getting enough fiber in your diet? Here are some delicious higher fiber recipes to try:

http://www.teambeachbody.com/teambeachbodyblog/nutrition/12-recipes-high-fiber?ICID=CT_BLOG_FIBER

So, of course I wanted to try a new recipe last night for dinner and it was DELICIOUS!

It comes in waves though – we go through the same 5 dinner-a-week rotation with SLIGHT variation and then I am over it and have to try out new recipes!  Can you relate? Do your weekly family meals look like the taco, spaghetti, grilled chicken, pizza and one random night rotation?

I am done with that…BORING!  However,  I AM all about good, healthy and EASY to make meals. I have tried 2 new recipes this week and my family devoured both of them!  The cauliflower fried “rice” is already on my app that you can download for free here –

Fit Envy NC App

The recipe we ate last night was FULL of fiber and easy to make ahead for quick prep once we were all home after sports, etc.

Lentil Lime Salad (I doubled the recipe)

  • 1 cup cooked green lentils
  • 1 medium carrot, chopped
  • 1/4 cup fresh parsley, chopped
  • 1 tsp sesame oil
  • 1 tsp Persian lime olive oil (you can use regular EVOO)
  • 2 – 3 tbsp fresh lime juice
  • 1 tbsp lime zest
  • 1 tbsp tamari, soy or Bragg’s liquid aminos
  • cumin, pink Himalayan salt, pepper, oregano to taste

Combine all ingredients and refrigerate for at least 2 hours before serving to let flavors marry.

This is typically a cold salad, BUT, I served it over brown rice and heated for my hubby and kids. I ate it served over organic mixed greens with a little hot sauce on top!  SO YUMMY! Enjoy 🙂  and let me know if you try it what you think.

Another bonus – lentils are CHEAP and can be served for leftovers the next day too!

 

