Tags

, , ,

One of my absolute FAVORITE times during the week are the quiet weekend mornings, still in my pajamas  (when we have no sporting event to rush out the door to). Before getting out of bed, I brainstorm, searching Pinterest, magazines & cookbooks for recipes to alter and ultimately make healthier for my family and friends.

It is quiet. My hubby and the kids are still sleeping and I tip-toe to the kitchen to turn on the island light. In the stillness of the morning, I brew the perfect, hot cup of coffee with 1 tsp of coconut oil and a splash of almond milk. I am in my zone.

This time is my peaceful, happy place – 2nd to my front porch in the sun with a glass of red…

Time to try a new recipe so my family can wake to sweet and savory smells emitting from the kitchen. This morning I made Banana Baked Oatmeal (I doubled the recipe to feed my family and a couple extra kids)IMG_4898

  • 1 cup old-fashioned rolled oats
  • 1/4 cup chopped walnuts
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 3/4 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1/8 tsp nutmeg
  • pinch of pink Himalayan salt
  • 1/4 cup 100% pure maple syrup
  • 1 cup almond or coconut milk
  • 1 large organic egg, lightly beaten
  • 2 tbsp unsalted organic butter, melted and cooled slightly
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 2-3 ripe bananas, peeled and sliced

Preheat oven to 375. Spray baking dish with coconut or cooking spray. Combine all dry ingredients in a bowl and set aside. Combine all wet ingredients. Add sliced banana to bottom of baking dish. Pour oat mixture over bananas. Add wet mixture to the baking dish and spread evenly over oats.

Bake at 375 for 35-40 minutes. Optional to top with berries!  Enjoy 🙂

*Note: you can make a large batch of this to enjoy reheated for quick breakfast during the week.**

Final_Short

