Tags

, , , , ,

YES!  I love pizza?!  Who doesn’t love pizza??

Funny thing is, pizza is the LAST thing I ate in 2013 when I realized exactly what was causing all of my health issues at the time and went to eating 100% gluten-free.

It was the night of the Pink concert in Charlotte. I knew that eating gluten made me feel badly, but didn’t realize HOW badly until I chose to say “what the hell” and consumed 1/2 a pizza that night with my friend Shelly.  I will NEVER forget how sick I felt not only that night but for DAYS afterwards.

I blogged last year about my journey with choosing to eat gluten-free and why I was not just following what seemed to be this new “fad” diet  –  Is your “normal” normal?

Ever since then, pizza is one thing that I miss eating so I am always on the hunt for a good gluten-free pizza crust recipe.

I can get gluten-free pizza at a local restaurant around the corner from my house, but I still like the idea finding a healthier option and making my own. I have also tried cauliflower crust which is delicious also!!pizza

I have narrowed my search down to 2 recipes. Let me know if you have one that you love and share it in comments!

#1

  • 2/3 cup garbanzo bean flour
  • 1/3 cup + 1 tablespoon water
  • 1/2 teaspoon garlic salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon chili powder

Instructions:

1. Preheat oven to 375.

2. In a small bowl, mix together all ingredients. It should be a thick paste.

3. Grease an iron skillet with olive oil and spread the crust around.

4. Top your pizza with what ever your heart desires!

5. Bake at 375 for 15-20 minutes, or until crust is firm. Slice with a pizza cutter.

**********************************************************************************

#2

  • 2 cups almond flour (I use Bob’s Red Mill)
  • 1 cup arrowroot powder
  • 1 1/2 tsp. baking powder
  • 1 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1 1/2 tsp. oregano
  • 1/4 tsp. black pepper
  • 3 eggs
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened almond milk

Instructions:

1. Preheat oven to 425 degrees. Grease a round pizza pan, cookie sheet or pizza stone.

2. Combine dry ingredients in a large bowl. Whisk to blend together.

3. Add eggs and almond milk to the dry ingredients. Mix well. (The batter will be runny–not like typical pizza dough.)

4. Use a spatula to spread batter onto greased pan.

5. Bake crust in preheated oven 8-12 minutes.

6. Remove crust from oven and top with sauce and desired toppings.

7. Bake for another 10-15 minutes. Enjoy!

